

FROM THE PROGRAM CHAIR

Welcome to MTA's 24th Annual Meeting!

by Stephen M. Casey



Stephen M. Casey

his year's theme—The Open Window to the Future—highlights two strategies within the M community. First, we consistently are striving to be the most "open" language on the market. What other programming language or database system can boast the combination of ANSI, FIPS, and ISO approval, or portability and interoperability? Others might claim this standardization, but try to convince any CIO of that who has overseen a port to another vendor's version of the "standard" language or to a separate hardware platform. Yet, in our community we think nothing of using various M implementations or converting from mainframes to PC/RISC networks.

Second, our community (the M Technology Association along with its corporate and individual members) is actively looking forward to the future. Plans are being made for joining our annual conference with another trade show. As John Covin, Chair of the MTA Board of Directors, has stated recently, "Our Annual Meeting in 1996 will be greatly expanded. The number of non-M attendees seeking to learn about M likely will exceed the number of M-enlightened attendees." Additionally, M implementors and service organizations are expanding their horizons and developing strategic partnerships with non-M corporations. These partnerships will bring our high-performance database and client-server capabilities to a wider audience.

So enjoy the conference! Keep up with the latest changes by enrolling in several of the forty tutorials. Stop in on some of more than sixty discussion sessions and debates. Visit the exhibit hall and see what's new with the implementers, tool developers, service companies, hardware vendors, and related technologies.

On a final note, I want to thank everyone who gave time and experience in organizing this conference. In particular, I would like to express my appreciation to my co-chair, Bob Craig, and the subcommittee chairs: Barbara Craig, Carol Johnson, Anne Klein, Gloria Mitchell, Linda Moore, Susan O'Gorman, Tony Quaranta, Patricia Riggie, and Kate Schell. Also, the MTA staff under Maureen Lilly's guidance is fantastic. This meeting would not have happened without Sandra Reynolds, "Chair Extraordinaire"! If you haven't yet had the chance to meet the MTA staff members, take a moment to say hello and thank them for the meeting and their services. They are a great bunch of people.

Enjoy Chicago, visit old friends, meet new ones, and have a great time.

Sincerely.

Stephen M. Casey

tabe M. Aus

Chair, 1995 Annual Meeting Program Committee

P.S. See MTA's Director of Member Services, Susan Rathbone, about joining the M Technology Association if you are not a member already.